News from ticTOCs

Where academics and researchers keep up-to-date

Hello ticTOCs

Posted by jo555 on June 25, 2007

Hello ticTOCs

I thought it was about time I introduced myself to everyone associated with and working on this project.

My name is Joe Hilton and I was recently installed as the Project Manager for the ticTOCs project.  I’ve been in the post since the beginning of June and I have spent the first few weeks getting to know the core elements of the project and trying to catch up on developments that have already begun.

A bit of background history about myself. Well, I was a hairdresser for about eight years between the mid 80’s and early 90’s (I imagine none of you expected that).  I then worked in a music studio for around a further 7 years or so working as an assistant sound engineer and also stage lighting engineer.  I began working at the University of Liverpool libraries in 2000 after completing my degree in I.T. and European Studies at Liverpool Hope University.

I feel I come from a strong User/Reader Services background, especially having worked here in the User Services Department for 5 years.  I have a deep interest in technological developments in respect of how they can improve the users experience but I don’t regard myself as technically minded.

I’m hoping to begin meeting up with everybody pretty soon.  It will be nice to put faces and personalities to e-mail addresses and usernames and get the ball rolling on this project in earnest.

Leave a Reply

 
